cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buggy messaging system is seriously impacting my ability to work--anyone else?

Highlighted
Savannah M Member Since: Apr 9, 2015
1 of 4

I've been working through Odesk for a good two years or so now, and I swear I haven't had as many problems as I have had in the past week since the changes to the site have been implemented.

The frustrating thing is that every time I report an issue, I get a brush-off of "I know it's very frustrating but..." and then hear nothing for hours or days about what even is happening--or whether it's an issue specific to me or a site-wide issue (I'm starting to assume it's site-wide).

The most recent one this evening was that an attachment in a message from a client--the entire premise and guidelines of the assignment--is giving me an "access forbidden" error. Apparently, according to chat, this is a site-wide issue, with no ETA at ALL as to when or even whether it would be fixed. In point of fact I was advised by the chat rep to just have my client email or dropbox me needed files until they can get it back up.

Question for the folks at Odesk: if I'm using my personal email ANYWAY, with clients I have worked with for months or even years, what point is there in actually using the site at all? 

These recurring issues are making me seriously, seriously consider withdrawing from the site and taking my clients with me, as well as dissuading other friends I have who freelance from joining in the first place. 

It would be easier to have faith in the site if issues such as these were handled better. Get on the ball, Odesk folks: since you're apparently going to be having issues galore, find a better way of dealing with them, please.

Highlighted
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
2 of 4

Hi Savannah,