Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Business case mentality

thomssi
Ace Contributor
Simon T Member Since: Jul 2, 2016
1 of 8

I am posting this in the freelancer section but anyway, my background is a UK Chartered Accountant and a senior director in an investment bank as a head of a a continent (Asia) in my field.  I charge high rates.  I have no objection to people chargin low rates, this is a global business and, at least for commodity type products, price competition makes senes.  E.g. I want web scraping, type stuff, ok.

If I am an entrepreneur with initial capital and I am looking for next stage funding of, say, 20m USD do I want a business case written by someone who has raised capital and can actually value companies and may cost you a few k or a guy with a laptop who charges 5 an hour.  Maybe you wish to circumvent big 4 consultancies or IBs but really, you want to raise 10s of millions and pay 50USD for your comprehensive business model and sell on that basis.

Where did you assumption xyz come from?

abc in dcf wrote it

Have you any back up

No - I paid him, he is now writing the business plan for bkljbsldg for 10 USD.

Seriously?

What frightens me is the number of people trying to raise serious money on the back of the cheapest thing they can find with no come-back, that mentality says I wouldn't invest in you if you can't be bothered investimg in yourself.

It's very odd.  I have no doubt some of the 5USD guys are capable at using excel, I doubt they have sold 20m seed capital pitches and probably aren't that available when they delivered their model.

What I really question is the buyers who want 20-50m in capital investment but want to pay for a coffeee to get it.

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
2 of 8