🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: CLIENT SCAM? admits he has NO CLIENTS and...
Page options
fififreelance
Community Member

CLIENT SCAM? admits he has NO CLIENTS and is asking for advice to get Clients...connect refund?

Is this some cruel joke? Is there any method to get connect refunded in this scenario?

I get this directly from the client who messaged me from my proposal:

"My question is what are your methods of outreach to acquire your clients? Would love to learn more, I just started this "Agency" which is really just me. I do not have any clients as of yet. I have started outreaching"

Is this against TOS as it surely is a waste of time and connects and I realize it's only 2 connect, but I'm just starting out on UpWork and really want to make the most of what I have here..

Would love to hear from someone more seasoned then myself here! Appreciate it very much.

14 REPLIES 14
tlsanders
Community Member

I don't work here, but I can't see why it would violate TOS to hire an Upwork-specific business coach through Upwork.

It sounds like it might be a scam, though, because it's hard to understand why someone would hire another newcomer who probably doesn't have much valuable information to share for that.

AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Firas, 

I checked your conversation with this client and it looks like it progressed a little. If you feel wary about this client, you can report him by flagging his job post. If the team finds that his actions violate any of the Terms of Service, they will take the necessary actions against the client's accounts. 

~ Avery
Upwork

Hey Avery,

If you looked at the conversation in it's entirety, can you advise if that is something in line with TOS?