🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » CONSTANT NEW CLIENT REQUESTS AND DOZENS OF EM...
Page options
ilannamandel
Community Member

CONSTANT NEW CLIENT REQUESTS AND DOZENS OF EMAILS

Hello:

I have been working with a very nice client for the past several months. But, now, the contract is coming to a close. Just two more weeks. However, every day they are barraging me with dozens of emails and new requests. Now, they want a rubric for the course. Of course that would be helpful, but it was never part of the original contract, and never mentioned until now. Would you do the work anyway if you weren't paid? They also want other new work done such as a syllabus, and revisions they won't pay for.
What would you do? What would you say?
I don't think they do it out of malice, but out of genuine need, and I would like to work with them again. Unsure what to do.
Thanks!
Ilanna

12 REPLIES 12
prestonhunter
Community Member

If this is an hourly contract, then this may be fine.

As long as you log time (and thus bill the client) for all of the time you spend receiving, opening, reading, responding to the emails, etc... Then you are getting paid for your time. That is how Upwork is supposed to work.

If the arrangement does not suit you, then you may end the contract at any time. Or you may address the situation with the client, and explain what your expectations and requirements are in order for you to continue working on the project.

If this is a fixed-price contract, then this is NOT okay.

If your fixed-price contract does not specify that you will respond to emails, and how many emails over the course of the milestone, etc., then the client is asking you to work for free.

Properly handled, a fixed-price contract specifies exactly what you will do and deliver, and NOTHING outside of that is acceptable.

re: "They also want other new work done such as a syllabus, and revisions they won't pay for... Would you do the work anyway if you weren't paid?"