🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Can Clients Give Negative Feedback For A ...
Page options
firefingers
Community Member

Can Clients Give Negative Feedback For A Canceled Contract?

Hello all,

So I have a contract that just seems to be a waste of my time and energy.

Quick summary:

1. Was contracted to write SMS messages for a marketer.

2. Waited a couple weeks before getting any instructions due to him and his friend travelling

3. Come to find out the job is actually two jobs in one and they were a bit deceitful.

4. They not only want me to write messages but they also want me to write it into code so they can transfer it.

5. They tried to briefly explain all the tags and syntax in the document but it was neither good enough nor written well enough to comprehend. 

I contacted them to tell them I don't understand the coding. I am a writer, not a coder. So far, for the last few days I have heard nothing.

So, I was thinking about just ending the contract so we don't have to further waste each others time. 

My question is:

Can they give me a negative feedback if I close the contract (no work performed and no money transferred)?

Can/does canceling contracts affect your Upwork rating?

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
nyrrielatienza
Community Member

Hi Dylan,

I'm sorry to learn about your experience with your client.

We suggest talking to the client about the project. If the contract won't move forward, closing it as soon as possible or asking the client to do so and leave feedback will counter the negative impact on your score. When client feedback is received, even without earnings, it will be factored into your Job Success Score. Both parties have a chance to provide private feedback and if that feedback is positive, the affect of that contract can also be positive.  Best practice though, is to request the client to close the contract as they will be more apt to leave the freelancer feedback. Please see this help article.

Let me know if there's anything else. 

~ Riri