🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Can I dispute my client's feedback?
Page options
6f420b0a
Community Member

Can I dispute my client's feedback?

Hi All, 

I'm new to Upwork, I took a TON of time to build a good profile and a nice job list. After weeks everything is just how I like it. One problem, my first feedback is 4 stars. 

My client gave one set of directions, I spent 3 hours doing the work. Then he changed the entire scope of the project. I was scared to death of my first review being bad, so I obliged and redid the work, another 3 hours of work even though the job was only for $60 job, but whatever.

The client then tried to change the entire scope of the project to something I cannot do and do not offer.

I apologized to the client, let him have the work, and refunded his funds. I even beat him to feedback and gave him 5 stars even though the client was really rough to work with, again because I'm terrified of a bad review, but he gave me 4 stars. 

Is there any recourse for this?

I'm already having a hard enough time trying to get orders because I'm brand new. Now I'm brand new at 4 stars.

Do I just give up and never log in to Upwork again? I'm not ever going to get another job on here. It looks terrible, and I did nothing wrong.

If anyone has any advice, I'd love the help.

I've learned my lession. I knew I shouldn't have worked with this guy.

Thank you,

Mark

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
2e395a62
Community Member

Hi Mark!

I'm fairly new here as well, so I can relate to your fear of not landing jobs, not getting 5* for whatever reason etc. Suggestions regarding this particular situation:

DO:

- keep on sending proposals, never give up, never give in.  

- cheer up, have a beer, say F...It, move on

- be proud. As someone said here, over 90% of freelancers on UW never land any job. You managed to land 2 already. Congrats!

DON'T: