🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Can I send my Upwork clients a subcontract?
Page options
earle-olivia
Community Member

Can I send my Upwork clients a subcontract?

I am a web designer and lately it has been an issue that while I am building, updating, or editing sites the client will go in and change a bunch of things that I ultimately have to re-do. For hourly contracts, it is an inconvenience but I am still paid for my time. For my fixed contracts, I am spending a lot more hours than I initially quoted and ultimately losing money and sometimes it results in a design that I am not happy with putting my name on. 

Could I send my upwork clients a subcontract (through Upwork Messenger) that basically says my client agrees to not make any edits to the site but instead communicate them with me?

If this is against the terms of Upwork, could I at least send them something where they have to check a box and say they acknowledge it?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Olivia:
Upwork allows freelancers and clients to agree to any additional contracts (or "subcontracts", to use your term) that they want to.

So, yes... You can send an additional subcontract to clients through the Upwork Messages tool and have them agree to it. Clients may decide if they want to agree to additional contracts or not. If you have certain requirements that a client will not agree to, then you don't need to work with the client.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

Olivia:
Upwork allows freelancers and clients to agree to any additional contracts (or "subcontracts", to use your term) that they want to.

So, yes... You can send an additional subcontract to clients through the Upwork Messages tool and have them agree to it. Clients may decide if they want to agree to additional contracts or not. If you have certain requirements that a client will not agree to, then you don't need to work with the client.