🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Can Upwork Plus Clients be fake?
Page options
Community Member

Can Upwork Plus Clients be fake?

I am a newbie on Upwork. However, I received an Invitation to a job (which I declined because it did not match my skill set) and to my horror I noticed that the Client:

1) is UPWORK Plus Client with Payment method verified

2) Posted 1089 jobs with 84% hire rate and 66 open jobs

3) $9M+ total spent

4) 16,052 hires, 1140 active

5) Member since Nov 2, 2014

This is the activity status of the job:

• Interviewing: 637
  • Invites sent: 2,900
  • Unanswered invites: 1,863

The status of all other posted jobs by this client is kind of similar.

I believe this is a serious scam going on. Should I flag the job as inappropriate?

12 REPLIES 12
yofazza
Community Member

Can Upwork Plus Clients be fake?

YES!

You can browse a few pages back and you'll see many discussions about this.

Really? Doesn't it seem like that means they have to be legit?

okele
Community Member

I don't think that client is a scammer. More likely an agency. Yes they do exist here. It's not uncommon for agencies to post here as they get work from whatever their sources are. And just an FYI you might as well remove the link as it is a private job and only invitees can see it. 

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I believe this is a serious scam going on. Should I flag the job as inappropriate?"

Why do you think this client is a scammer?

A scammer can't fake those numbers.

This client hires and pays a lot of people.

That doesn't mean YOU should be interested in working for them. But I don't see why you would report them.

84% hire rate?
That's a very high rate.

Community Member

Thank you for your valuable advice and guiding me.

yofazza
Community Member

Yes why do you report them  / what was the job?

And wasn't there a link to the job, before removed by moderator? I think I clicked the link and see it no longer exists.

pgiambalvo
Community Member