🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Can Upwork help me file a copyright case?
Page options
culmen
Community Member

Can Upwork help me file a copyright case?

Hello 

I am a freelancer from last 4 years. I got this project from a client of mine, giving me a project of $1000, telling me that she will give me $800 for my job + $200 as a bonus for good work.

I finished her work, a website(STILL LIVE AND WORKING). She kept asking for additional work, and whenever I'd refuse, she would say, okay, remember I will pay you $200 for this? Well, I kept doing extra work for the sake of rating and the money. 

There came a point when things were unbearable, she paid me $800 however, she kept asking for unlimited revisions again and again(things that were not a part of my job, however, I had to do it for the sake of it. 

Finally, I refused. She went ahead and filed a chargeback from the bank. I received a message from Upwork stating that they will return my money as a one-time courtesy if I keep helping them fight. I gave everything, every proof, live website link. THE CHAT HISTORY is the link where I worked on it. Everything.

I received a message from Upwork a few days ago telling me that the bank charged them back, they took money from me stating that the message of I'll-get-you-money-back-if-you-help was sent by mistake. 

Here I am, with an empty pocket,  looking at a live website, happily working, Upwork agents apologizing for wrong tickets; and nothing left for myself. 

My only last hope from Upwork is, will they help me file a copyright case against my client? She is using my material without paying me for it and the entire Upwork chat is the proof of it. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Maroof U wrote:

Thank you Petra
DCMA Takedown is my last move. The website is live and working. However, what saddened me was Upwork refusing to pay after this being their original message