🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Can a client hire multiple designers? (Ge...
Page options
designbycg
Community Member

Can a client hire multiple designers? (Getting hired doesn't guarantee the job is yours?)

I'm new to UpWork, so I'm not 100% sure how this site fully works still. I finally got my first job (Yay!) designing a logo and was really excited about it until I saw the client hired 2 designers. 

What does this mean? I have a contract with the client now to finish the logo, is there a chance he goes with the other designer and doesnt pay me? Or would I still get paid because I am under contract? If this is the case, is there a way set up proposals to protect me from this? 

Does this happen often, or did I get unlucky? 

3 REPLIES 3
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Can a client hire multiple designers?"

Yes, of course.

In fact, a better question is this:

If you have a serious, important project... Why would you hire only one artist when you can hire multiple artists, and have your pick from among the best work provided by all of them?

re: "...and was really excited about it until I saw the client hired 2 designers."

YOU were hired. Why would it bother you that other designers were hired, as well?

re: "What does this mean? I have a contract with the client now to finish the logo, is there a chance he goes with the other designer and doesnt pay me?"

If a client hires you, he needs to pay you for your work. It doesn't matter how many people the client hires.

re: "Or would I still get paid because I am under contract?"

You will still get paid.

re: "If this is the case, is there a way set up proposals to protect me from this?"

There is nothing that you need to be protected from.

re: "Does this happen often?"

I hope so.

For design and artistic work, I often hire multiple freelancers. That gives me more choices to work with as a client.

For example, here is a project where I hired 9 Upwork artists to do the exact same job: