Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Re: Wrong country while creating my profile

Highlighted
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
111 of 3,892

Hi Buhle,

 

Your country is now updated, thank you.


Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Cristalan N Member Since: Dec 15, 2017
112 of 3,892

I started building my Upwork profile, but I made the mistake of putting USA as my country when I currently live in Mexico City and will be living here indefinitely. I can't verify my phone number because I have a Mexican phone number so the code is +52 rather than +1. I am a US citizen with a US bank account so I put the USA originally. How do I change my country to Mexico so I can continue building my profile? I have looked up going to settings to change it, but I don't have that option as I have not completed my profile and verified it with a phone number (I don't  have a US phone so I can't do this).

Highlighted
Moderator
Valeria K Moderator Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
113 of 3,892

Hi Cristalan,

 

I went ahead and updated your location information so it reflects Mexico as your country. You should be able to complete your profile now but let us know if you run into any further issues.

 

Thank you.

~ Valeria
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Carson F Member Since: Nov 10, 2019
114 of 3,892

Hi Valeria,

 

I'm having a similar problem to Cristalan. I put down USA as my country (as my bank and tax information are there) but am currently living in South Korea. Could you please help me change my country so I'm able to verify my account?

 

Thank you so much~

-Carson

Highlighted
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
115 of 3,892

Hi Carson, 


I have updated your country to South Korea as requested. Please update your address to reflect the address you have in South Korea to make sure that you have trutful, and accurate information on your account. 

Let me know if you need further help!


-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Steven W Member Since: Nov 11, 2019
116 of 3,892

Hi Avery

 

I'm in the middle of creating profile, and the country is shown as US, but i'm based in Thailand, please help update, thanks!

Highlighted
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
117 of 3,892

Hi Steven,


Your country is now updated, thank you.


Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Julio N Member Since: Jan 3, 2018
118 of 3,892

Hello, I was connected thru a customer proxy when I created my UpWork account and by mistake I let USA (auto selected) as country, I realize it cannot be changed during the profile creation, so I kindly request your help to set the right country (Venezuela) in order to move forward with my account configuration. Thanks in advance for your help. Regards, Julio

Highlighted
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
119 of 3,892

Julio:

This is the Community Forum, which is essentially a discussion board used by Upwork users.

 

It IS POSSIBLE that a Forum Moderator (who works for Upwork officially) will see your request and help you out with it.

 

But the official proper way for you to get help with this is to contact Upwork Customer Support and submit a help ticket, asking them humbly to help you correct your country location to the right country.

 

https://support.upwork.com/

Active Member
Julio N Member Since: Jan 3, 2018
120 of 3,892

Thanks for the prompt response Preston H, 

 

I did try to request help from support section but at the end it requests to select a channel where "Discuss with UpWork Community" seems to be the one which makes sense, so I assume it will take me to this forum.

TOP KUDOED MEMBERS