Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Re: Country and mobile verification

j_jakus
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2181 of 3,935

Hello, are there alternative forms of double verification aside from the mobile phone code? Currently, I am a US citizen who is studying in Turkey for one year. English is my native language and it feels more appropriate to select "United States" as my country, however I no longer have a stateside mobile phone number (only a Turkish number). How should I navigate this? 

 

Thank you in advance for your help! 

 

Julia Jakus

 

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2182 of 3,935

Julia J wrote:

Currently, I am a US citizen who is studying in Turkey for one year. English is my native language and it feels more appropriate to select "United States" as my country,


Your location must reflect where you are. So it is not "more appropriate" to choose the US because you are not there. It is not a "native language" setting or a "citizenship" setting or a "which country do I like best" setting. It is "location," Your location is not USA.


If you are in Turkey, your location must be set to Turkey.

j_jakus
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2183 of 3,935

Thanks! That clears it up. My follow up question then would then be: how do I adjust the country? Apologies for so many questions. I am new to the UpWork community. 

djondinium
Moderator
Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
2184 of 3,935

Hi Julia,

 

Could you send me the name of the country that you would like me to update your profile?

 

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
j_jakus
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2185 of 3,935
Hello, I would like to update my country to Turkey. I am citizen of the
United States, but I moved to Istanbul recently for my Master's degree.

Thank you for your help!

Julia
aocumen
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2186 of 3,935

Hi Julia, 

 

I have updated your country from U.S. to Turkey. You should now be able to update your address by going to your Contact Info page (Settings > Contact Info). 

Please don't hesitate to post your questions here (if there are still any). Have a nice day!


-Avery
Untitled
cherrybruu
Active Member
Cherry S Member Since: Mar 4, 2020
2187 of 3,935

HI!

Can you update my country to the Philippines as well? I have the same problem as Julia. US citizen, but currently traveling.

 

Cherry 

g_vasilevski
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
2188 of 3,935

Hi Cherry,

 

Your country is now updated, thank you.


Untitled
a06c9116
Active Member
David T Member Since: Apr 8, 2020
2189 of 3,935

Can you please change my country to Russia?

aocumen
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2190 of 3,935

Hi David, 

I have updated your country to Russia as requested. 


-Avery
Untitled
TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS