Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Can't change country

Highlighted
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2161 of 3,892

Hello, are there alternative forms of double verification aside from the mobile phone code? Currently, I am a US citizen who is studying in Turkey for one year. English is my native language and it feels more appropriate to select "United States" as my country, however I no longer have a stateside mobile phone number (only a Turkish number). How should I navigate this? 

 

Thank you in advance for your help! 

 

Julia Jakus

 

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
2162 of 3,892

Julia J wrote:

Currently, I am a US citizen who is studying in Turkey for one year. English is my native language and it feels more appropriate to select "United States" as my country,


Your location must reflect where you are. So it is not "more appropriate" to choose the US because you are not there. It is not a "native language" setting or a "citizenship" setting or a "which country do I like best" setting. It is "location," Your location is not USA.


If you are in Turkey, your location must be set to Turkey.

Highlighted
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2163 of 3,892

Thanks! That clears it up. My follow up question then would then be: how do I adjust the country? Apologies for so many questions. I am new to the UpWork community. 

Highlighted
Moderator
Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
2164 of 3,892

Hi Julia,

 

Could you send me the name of the country that you would like me to update your profile?

 

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Julia J Member Since: Oct 6, 2019
2165 of 3,892
Hello, I would like to update my country to Turkey. I am citizen of the
United States, but I moved to Istanbul recently for my Master's degree.

Thank you for your help!

Julia
Highlighted
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2166 of 3,892

Hi Julia, 

 

I have updated your country from U.S. to Turkey. You should now be able to update your address by going to your Contact Info page (Settings > Contact Info). 

Please don't hesitate to post your questions here (if there are still any). Have a nice day!


-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Cherry S Member Since: Mar 4, 2020
2167 of 3,892

HI!

Can you update my country to the Philippines as well? I have the same problem as Julia. US citizen, but currently traveling.

 

Cherry 

Highlighted
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
2168 of 3,892

Hi Cherry,

 

Your country is now updated, thank you.


Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
David T Member Since: Apr 8, 2020
2169 of 3,892

Can you please change my country to Russia?

Highlighted
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
2170 of 3,892

Hi David, 

I have updated your country to Russia as requested. 


-Avery
Untitled
TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS