cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can they take your content and run? :-(

Anne M Member Since: May 19, 2016
1 of 20

I'm not sure where to post this. I have written for content websites years ago in the past, but the structure was a little different, but never was I not paid.

I'm new to Upwork as of a week ago and still trying to get the hang of it. Not that it's difficult, but each site has its own learning curve. I'm getting a little nervous right now, as I accepted a propsal/job offer. The client said they wanted an article for a Job Related Niche Site, and they would inform at the time of proposal Key Words. This 1,000 word article @ $10.00 might not seem like much, but after they gave me the keyword: China- you bet it was. I know nothing of China's job market, economy, or rising trends. Since the client offered no resources, I was left to figure that out on my own (which wasn't mentioned in the proposal). So yeah I spent 3+ hours researching the subject. That's not including typing it up, re-phrasing, editing.

This client was quick to reply when I had questions before, within 5 minutes. Now that I submitted the work, it's been 12+ hours with no reply, no approval. Good God, I spent 5 hours more than I should have researching this subject and presenting a high quality article. If I knew that was the case I wouldn't have agreed.

Can this person take the work I submitted and run? I now see he has an unverified payment method. Makes sense, all the clients I have worked that have paid me, all have verified accounts. Wish I would have paid attention, I just didn't notice it. Any recorse I can take?

Also, now that I see this verified payment option, should I drop unverified account contracts? I have 2 pending. I don't want to submit work only to not get paid. Advice, please and thank you.

Sad

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 20

lol 5 hours for $10. It was probably more like 8-10 too.