🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Can you include work done as a freelancer in ...
Page options
02f72406
Community Member

Can you include work done as a freelancer in your portfolio?

Hi there,

I'm brand new to the world of freelancing and am trying to understand the legality of sharing work done for other companies. For the past 6 years, I was employeed by a company and produced what I would consider a sizeable portfolio of work, everything from catalogs, email designs, product packaging, etc. However, I signed a Confidentiality Agreement upon resignation and do not think I'm allowed to share any content I've created for the company as an employee. Am I understanding that correctly?

Is this different as a freelancer? Or do you typically have to sign NDAs and cannot share work completed for them? 

I'm trying to figure out how to show off my design skills, in particular, but don't seem like I'm able to share anything I've created to date to get me started in the freelance world. 

Help!

Many thanks,

Jess

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

You may include anything in your portfolio as long as it represents work that YOU did, and you have permission to show it in your portoflio.

It doesn't have to be work that you did as an Upwork freelancer.

It doesn't have to be work that you did for pay.

You can include work in your portoflio that you created specifically for the purpose of posting it in your portfolio.

You can include work that you did for an Upwork or non-Upwork client if the client allows you to do so.

If you worked for a client and the client ended up not paying you, then your original work belongs to you and you can post it without getting permission from anybody else

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member