🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Cancelled Contract
Page options
adilalich
Community Member

Cancelled Contract

Hi, this is my first time writing to the community. I am only 40 or so days old on Upwork, and as a beginner I have done relatively well.

I agreed to take a contract worth $35, and delivered the work soon to the client but the client wasn't responsive (I specifically told the client I'd need him to be online to verify). I had to leave for a few days, and I told the client about my situation to which he agreed saying this isn't a time sensitive job. When I left (Only had my phone with me), the client cancelled the contract, and asked me to refund the amount which I did (I shouldn't have).

Client told me he has hired someone else to complete the job, and the job has been completed. I still had client's credentials for a specific platform so I checked what was "fixed" in the work I did but to my amazement, everything was the same.

I don't care for $35 or the time I put in but a cancelled contract has hit me bad. My JSS has dropped considerably. How long would it take me to take that particular contract out of the equation? 

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

I never tell a client he has to be online to approve something.

I am working for the client, not the other way around. The client's schedule is his business.

There is no "client approval" necessary.

When I take on a fixed-price contract, then I have all of the information and input files necessary to complete the task. I do the work and then submit it using the official "Submit Work and Request Payment" button.

If the client is not around and does absolute nothing, then all of the money in escrow gets released to me automatically.

You said that you did the work and you sent it to the client.

It does not make sense to me why the client asked for a refund.

Would YOU ask for a refund if you:

- hired somebody to do a task for you

- they completed it quickly