cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing Proposal Terms from Hourly to Milestone Payments

David W Member Since: Apr 4, 2018
1 of 11

As an active freelancer, I receive quite a few proposals from prospective clients. Usually the payment terms are Hourly, is there any way for the Freelancer to modify/change the payment terms to Milestone?

Thanks, Dave

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
2 of 11

@David W wrote:

As an active freelancer, I receive quite a few proposals from prospective clients. Usually the payment terms are Hourly, is there any way for the Freelancer to modify/change the payment terms to Milestone?

Thanks, Dave

You have to agree this with your client. Sometimes clients state hourly but then are quite happy to change to a fixed rate. But you must agree this with the  client before the contract is confirmed..The only way to change from hourly to fixed-price on a confirmed contract, is to  cancel the contract and set it up again. 

Community Leader
Moutacim L Member Since: Mar 13, 2018
3 of 11

--We, the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful.
We have done so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.
Mother Teresa
Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
4 of 11

Moutacim,

The freelancer cannot set the milestone. The freelancer can agree to the amount or not, but cannot set it themselves. 

There are no milestones on an hourly job. On an hourly contract, the client decides how many hours he or she wishes the freelancer to work. 

ETA: Just to avoid confusion: when  a freelancer sees a proposal at a fixed price and agrees to that price, the amount seen in the proposal, does not always match the amount that is paid into escrow. That is why it is always wise to check the amount paid into escrow before agreeing to the job. 

Community Leader
5 of 11

Sorry Nichola for the confusion,