🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Changing job requirements and pay
Page options
9e1156d4
Community Member

Changing job requirements and pay

So I posted a job I needed help with for what my total budget was ($300). I recieved many responses from some unbelievably talented people. I originally planned on hiring just one person but now think I may go with 3 or 4 and a lower rate per project with slightly different requirements.

Is it ok to change the job description and pay AFTER a few people have responded (not hired yet)? I have a much better idea what I need now and what's available and am actually increasing my budget, just changing my approach and pay per person. 

Thanks in advance for any advice!

3 REPLIES 3
grimesr
Community Member

As a freelancer, I would prefer you tell those who made a proposal that you are closing the project and opening a new one that better states you current desires. As a freelancer, there is not (unless I am mistaken) any way to resubmit my proposal if the job changes or there is clarification. Thus I would never be able to restate how I would successfully complete your new project definition. Also, I would get back the connnects (again, if I am not mistaken). As a freelancer, I may not want to rebid on the new project.

Others more cynical, might think you are doing a bait and switch.

mtngigi
Community Member

Robert G wrote:

As a freelancer, I would prefer you tell those who made a proposal that you are closing the project and opening a new one that better states you current desires. As a freelancer, there is not (unless I am mistaken) any way to resubmit my proposal if the job changes or there is clarification. Thus I would never be able to restate how I would successfully complete your new project definition. Also, I would get back the connnects (again, if I am not mistaken). As a freelancer, I may not want to rebid on the new project.

Robert G wrote: