🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Changing payment Account to LLC
Page options
ptchuba
Community Member

Changing payment Account to LLC

I've been an upwork freelancer since the days when it was odesk and separate from elance. I have worked on several hundred jobs but have had very little to do with Upwork support - until now and I am so very disappointed.

I've always worked under my own name and made transfers to my personal bank account. Recently I decided to start a single member LLC and make payments to the LLC account instead. I changed the SSN/EIN without issue but when i tried to change the bank account to the LLC it failed. Name mismatch, they said and that's understandable. I appreciate the need for security. I was asked to provide information showing that I own the account. To do this I have to verify my identity again (last one I did was in Dec 2019) but I went ahead and uploaded my driver's license and then submitted a bank statement from the account. They said the document I submitted needs to show both my name and the name of the company. So i go in again, upload my driver's license again, and uploaded my IRS EIN letter. Then they said the IRS letter is fine but there is a mismatch on my date of birth. I point out that the document site uses a format of YYYY-MM-DD and perhaps they are confusing that with another format, because this is the same driver's license that I have used to verify my identity with them several times before and my date of birth is correct. But each time I respond, it appears the ticket gets transfered to a different person. The new person does not take the time to go over the case and review the notes. Instead they just jump right in and ask me to submit documents again like it was a new case.