Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Cient questions/requests before job offer

dsmgdesign
Community Guru
David S M Member Since: Apr 24, 2018
1 of 6

Hello, 

I'm a graphic design freelancer and I talk with a lot of clients who are confused about how Upwork works. They usually all want to know the same thing, but they ask it in different ways. For example, one client wanted to see a traditional "submission to an RFP"..., while another said they didn't know how Upwork works and asked if freelancers give them a "pitch." I asked what he meant by "pitch"...did he mean pitch our ideas?...he said yes. I just kind of brushed it off, and said something like "no, not usually." 

Would like to understand where Upwork falls and what they mean by free work. For example, does Upwork consider pitching an idea free work...is providing a more detailed submission to an RFP with creative ideas or production strategies for their job considered free work?

Would like to hear from an Upwork Community Moderator on their insight as to at what extent is spending your time on something that's customized for a client, beyond submitting a proposal with a cover letter and answering their questions, does Upwork consider free work?

Since I get sooo many clients essentially asking the same thing, but using different language, I'm sure other freelancers have run into this before, too. Maybe more for creative freelancers, because clients seem to want to see your creative ideas first, because I think some clients are so clueless they need to see something that's customized for them first before they buy. So, if this is considered free work, I would like to hear how other freelancers handle it.

Thank you! 

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 6

re: "Would like to understand where Upwork falls and what they mean by free work."

Upwork has no way of policing what you do in this regard.

What is more important is what YOU consider free work.

mtngigi