cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clarifying Agreements

Joseph M Member Since: Jun 12, 2016
1 of 17

Hey - 

I accepted a job where the client requests I give ongoing revisions though he only requested an actual edit for the project. We agreed on a fixed price but just to do an edit to his doc: a sales letter. When he sent the job request I accepted but only with a returned message saying that ongoing revisions meant ongoing consultation. 

There was a messaging option shown to me right where the accept button was. My impression was that this is an opportunity for the freelancer to clear up the terms. I did so. It's my first project, so I don't know for sure. 

Additionally, the client, in his job offer, says "ongoing revisions until 5 percent conversion is reached." They request I immediately start a live chat with them because they weren't happy with the Doc. That it wouldn't convert. But I read his original letter, and know very well he couldn't express conversion potential if it hit him in the face. 

He would need to test the Doc, but he has nothing in place, no funnel set to test it with. 

Here's the things:

I don't know if I've obligated myself to this client for ongoing revisions or not. No payment has been made, pending I keep giving him revisions until 5 percent is met. It's obvious this person wants something for nothing or for VERY cheap. I think giving him an edit was fair with ongoing consultation but not revisions. But I don't know if I established that as part of the agreement to be held accountable though.

What I don't know is whether or not my message sent during the acceptence phase plays any role to my obligation since I did clarify that, "Ongoing revisions means ongoing consultation," before hitting the accept button.

Can anyone help? My biggest fear is canceling this project and having the client rate me in a negative way. Although, I know the work I gave was top notch. 

Thanks! 

Highlighted
Community Guru