🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Asking for Refund on hourly job
Page options
anshulrastogi
Community Member

Client Asking for Refund on hourly job

Dear Experts,

Please advise what to be done in this scenario. I'm a freelancer working on different projects on Upwork.

I got a "Sales" project on hourly rate on 15th July and client asked me to start work from 20th July. I did that. Now he suddenly ended the contract on Monday (3rd Aug). I diligently worked for the hours allotted to me as per the contract and put my efforts to close the deals for him. But unfortunately, no closure happened. 

Now the billing I did for 27th July till 2nd Aug is under review and this client raised a refund request for complete amount. Below is the message he mentioned while requesting refund.

"Since the project did not bring us any results. We want our money back for our time wasted."

I worked hard, diligently, put all the efforts for deals closure in his project. Am I liable to give him refund?

I want to know, If I don't respond to his refund request will the billing amount "In Review Status" will move to "Pending Status" and ultimately paid to me?

I know this client is doing wrong and if he was not happy with my performance he should have ended the contract then and there itself. What is the meaning of asking the refund for the efforts I gave on his project.

Experts, please advise me will I get my amount or not without responding to this unethical client.

Thank you

Regards

Anshul

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Anshul:

I am sorry that you are facing a situation like this.

You called the client "unethical."
That is 100% accurate.

But I would add that the client is also unprofessional and immoral.

This is definitely not how Upwork hourly contracts are intended to be used.

This is NOT a complicated concept:

- Client hires a freelancer

- Freelancer works for client for a certain number of hours.

- Client pays freelancer for those hours.