🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Cheated on Me.
Page options
devsyed
Community Member

Client Cheated on Me.

Hi. I am a newly registered freelancer at upwork, and trying to make a living out of here. I was recently approached by an **Edited for Community Guidelines** client, requesting to create custom wordpress functionalities for his client company called **Edited for Community Guidelines**. The Project was divided into 3 phases. The first one was to get the front-end ready, second phase was to ready the functionalities and the third to finishing it and securing it. The Project cost was around $1200, which the client decided to divide over 3 milestones, $200,$300,$700 respectively.

I completed phase 1 and the milestone was approved. While I was on the edge of completing phase 2, client came up with more changes in the site, regarding css, layouts, responsiveness, which was not even promised anywhere in the first place. Since this was my first job, I did it as a gesture of gratefulness. He almost made me change the layout twice during the second phase, which I did without making any complains, which led to submission of milestone 2, 4 days after the milestone 2 due date. 

The client approved the 2nd milestone and $300. 

Just Yesterday, the client messages and says, the project is gone, and he removes my access from the backend of the website. The client demands, that If I dont let them use my work, I will have to return both milestones funds back, and If I let them use it, I only have to return the second milestone funds back. He has requested a refund, and he threatens to leave a bad review if $300 is not refunded. 

PS: Turns out, there was no client that he always mentioned to meeting to, Its one of his own ventures. 

What should I do? I have worked really hard on this one, I did not take few projects because of this ongoing project. 

Should I end the contract? because client has not ended the contract yet. Please help me out.