🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Dispute
Page options
jujosam123
Community Member

Client Dispute

This is my situation, I had a client that asked for more tasks than hired time, despite the fact that i used the hired time and off the clock time to deliver results. The client ended the contract and contacted me to deliver tasks that were not completed due to hours ended, and he didn't want to add more hours and closed the contract instead, when I refused to work for free outside the platform he opens a dispute asking for a full refund arguing about the entire work, I've been working in Upwork for the past 4 years are a top-rated freelancer for more than a year thus far, the mediator agreed with the proposed refund to this client and asked to proceed with the refund which I did, now the client still want more refund and threatened with taking it higher, I would like to know what does it mean and if that could hurt my score and how to prevent myself from his attack.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Johanna M. S wrote:

I have already refunded the 25% 

With hourly disputes, all that matters is the work diary. If you have tracked the time correctly, with decent activity levels and meaningful work memos, you are protected and can't be made to refund anything.

If the mediator didn't point that out, they should have done.

I have replied and proceeded as the moderator instructed me, but seems like the client is yet not satisfied with the result and threatened to take this higher, what does that mean?.

Nothing, ultimately. Hourly disputes are very black and white. If you tracked the time according to the terms of the hourly payment protection, you can sit back and simply say that you have done all you were expected and more, and aren't refunding. You already refunded more than you had to.

Say as little as possible, but as much as necessary, and leave it at that.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
wlyonsatl
Community Member

Johanna,