🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Ghosted Me?
Page options
_kate_
Community Member

Client Ghosted Me?

I applied to a posting and was offered the contract the same day. There wasn't an interview or a personalized note with the offer, which I found somewhat odd especially for the field of work this is in (dealing with highly sensitive information). I researched the heck out of the client and they are legit. The business is also legit. I accepted and wrote a personal note that ended with a request for information on next steps. Radio silence...but a start date was established via the contract. 

The start date came and went without a word from the client. I have reached out a few times. No reply. In my most recent note, I gave a firm deadline for communication and, if I do not hear from them, I will consider the contract void. 

This is so odd to me. The client does important work and I am enthusiastic about their company. I have been a freelancer for 15+ years and have never experienced this before. Did I get ghosted or should I give the client the benefit of the doubt? Maybe they're ill or a terrible emergency has happened? 

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

There is no such thing as clients "ghosting" freelancers on Upwork.

So, by definition, your client did not "ghost" you.

Clients hire freelancers to work on their behalf. As freelancers, we get paid for the work that we do regardless of if the client replies or does anything.

When I do work, and then get paid, the money I receive is the important part of the equation. I was not ghosted if the client didn't say anything or hire me to do other stuff after that.

If you have done literally no work at all, and been paid nothing at all, then no harm has been done. I would wait, for now. How long ago were you hired?

But in the future, I would advise you to not accept a contract until you have enough information to do at least a small amount of work.

2a05aa63
Community Member