ladyelexia

Client Profile Linked WIth Contractor Profile

I have run across a unique situation over the last few days here on oDesk that has to do with profiles. I am a contractor here, and have been for some time, I also have a client account here, for an equal amount of time for other types of work that don’t fall under my expertise (design, website creation, certain types of writing ect.) I have had never had serious issues hiring, other than my issue with people I interviewed but never hired contacting me for months/years on end. A few days ago, I posted a job, and hired three people for this job. Two worked out like normal, did the work and the contracts were closed. The last person is the source of my trouble. This contractor, the moment I hired him, sent me a message telling me that he “Googled me” and that I “seem legit” and he is “happy to start working with me” . This in itself didn’t bother me, or raise too many red flags in my mind, but since it was the first time that I had received this type of comment, I decided to ask the contractor about it. I asked him if he researched my company (I do have a website, so this is what I expected), or if he researched the company that owns the site the work was for (also normal, and I give the main client information usually anyway) or if he researched me personally. Instead of answering my question directly, he starts making comments about where I live, where I have worked, and most strange, past jobs that are listed on my contractor profile. Now, of course, if he researched my name, some of that information could be found on the internet, but a lot of his comments referred to my contractor profile. I am proud of my profile, but the thing that makes it most disturbing, is that my profile is listed as private-and has been since December of 2013 (too much work currently, so I make it private to avoid invites). There are a lot of other issues that are involved with this contractor, and Market Place Support is dealing