🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Refusing to pay me for the API I built...
Page options
dawoodmuzammil
Community Member

Client Refusing to pay me for the API I built for him (Software Development)

A little backstory. I am new to Upwork and this was just my second job (my first fixed-price job). The job was to develop an API that would use another API to output some response. It was a straightforward job so I completed and submitted the work within 24 hours after the client provided me with the secondary API's access key. I submitted all work with proper technical documentation so that anyone using that API wouldn't have to waste time understanding the code.

Upon the client's request, I even implemented a simple frontend so he can try with different inputs if the API is working. After all this, the client refuses to pay until he has the API working on his website. This was not discussed before. The contract had no mention of any website. All that was discussed was that I will develop an API that would return some data.

If you are even a little educated with Software terms, you would know that "frontend" and "backend" are two completely separate concepts in Web Development. The whole point of developing an API is to separate these two concerns. So, the client refusing to pay on this basis is just bizarre for two reasons:

1. He does not have a developer who can integrate my API with the website. So there's no time-frame on how long that wait could be till my API is integrated with the website and I receive the payment.

2. As a backend developer, my job was to create an API that would give a certain response to a certain request. How that API is used is not my concern. I do not care if the client wishes to use the API directly or uses it via any website. From my end, I already implemented what was asked for and proved it.