Client Requested SSN and Personal Information

I had a client who, after starting the engagement, asked me for my SSN and other personal information. I sent him other verification of my ID, but wasn't willing to give such sensitive information to a stranger on the internet.

When I refused, the client ended the contract and left me a bad review. The client also never paid me for the hours I spent on the project, but then went to say in my review how I had wasted his time. 

What can I do? As a CPA, I think this is libel and an attempt to tarnish my reputation. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Robin, if you just lost Top Rated status due to this job, you could use the top rated feedback removal perk. Otherwise, perhaps you can still refund the client, and that would remove the public (but not private) feedback. As to the client's SSN request, did client mention this in the job description or during the interview? If so, you shouldn't have accepted the job, but if he didn't, then the client's being vindictive IMO.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
petra_r

Robin B wrote:The client also never paid me for the hours I spent on the project,

Did you not track your hours? If you tracked them you get paid automatically.

As far as the feedback is concerned there isn't much you can do (other than refund) as it isn't breaking any terms of service.

Is it not true that you "indicated you could not complete the work due to other priorities and schedule constraints?"

Robin, if you just lost Top Rated status due to this job, you could use the top rated feedback removal perk. Otherwise, perhaps you can still refund the client, and that would remove the public (but not private) feedback. As to the client's SSN request, did client mention this in the job description or during the interview? If so, you shouldn't have accepted the job, but if he didn't, then the client's being vindictive IMO.

John, 

No he did not mention it (in fact, he's ADDED it to the new job he just posted).