🐈 Community
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Trying to Cheat Me out of Fixed-Price ...
Page options
luda_marketing
Community Member

Client Trying to Cheat Me out of Fixed-Price Contract Escrow?

Hi Upwork!

I've been a freelancer on this website for over a year and have had excellent clients so far. However, a few days ago I applied and was accepted for a proofreading job. This was a fixed priced contract and I spent a few hours to make sure it was perfect and high-quality (as with all of my work, obviously).

The client replied a few days later stating that their in-house proofreader took a look and said that the work was "low quality." To be honest, I was completely shocked when they sent me this message - I have over 5 years of experience, I'm a native English speaker, and so on. At the same time, the client approved the milestone and sent me 1 cent (??) and requested a refund of the original amount in escrow.

I think that this is unfair. I spent my time and effort to make sure that their document was thoroughly proofread and do not feel that I should refund them the original escrow (under $100). It really seems that they're trying to get this work "for free" by saying that my work was low quality (which it definitely was not). However, I'm afraid that they will leave negative feedback that will affect my JSS. What would be the best way to deal with this situation? 

*Note - I'm Top Rated and could technically remove the negative feedback, but it'll state that "this feedback was removed" and might look suspicious to future clients. Should I do this anyway if they leave me negative feedback? 

5 REPLIES 5
tlsanders
Community Member

You have far too much positive history to be held hostage to the threat of negative feedback. Dispute and let the chips fall--a weird notation or even one bad entry is not going to change your overall picture significantly.

petra_r
Community Member