🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Wants Draft But Hasn't Accepted My Pro...
Page options
5c65a107
Community Member

Client Wants Draft But Hasn't Accepted My Proposal

I'm new to UpWork, and I recently submitted a proposal for a job that was met with a message from the client saying "I would like to hire you", but never accepted my proposal or created a contract. The proposal is still in pending. I said I would give them drafts, but assumed she would accept my proposal first. I'm now realizing, because the client was very vague and unclear, that they were asking for a draft without payment. They have also begin communicating with me via external email and they want the draft tomorrow. Am I bound in any way to produce a draft for this cleint or should I tell them I cannot begin work until they accept my proposal through Upwork and then agree to a contract?

6 REPLIES 6
PradeepH

Hello Haley,

I agree with Preston. We do not encourage Freelancers to submit samples or test drafts to the Clients before accepting a contract on Upwork. I see that you are new on Upwork, you can read up on the freelancer resources for great tips and insights on how you can work successfully on the platform. For more information about working safely through Upwork, please read these tips for avoiding questionable jobs. You can report any suspicious user activity to our Trust and Safety team directly for investigation. Feel free to message us if you have further questions.

Thank you

Pradeep H.

Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Member

This prospective client is just wasting my time right now.

Hiring people and paying them to work is not a complicated concept.

I am not going to give this prospective client a draft or do anything else on her behalf until I have been hired. I will tell her:

"Darlene: