cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client Wants My Personal/Business gmail email address

realizeadmin
Active

Hello!

I have a potential client that would like to beging the interview process by obtaining my business gmail account.  Is this permissible?  And if it is permissible, is it safe and a normal course of action?

I am new to all of this.  I want to comply with the Upwork rules and also be safe. 

Thank you, in advance, for your help.

Jennifer Knopf

Realize Virtual Assistance

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
katrinabeaver
Community Guru

It's fine to give a client your email.  All of my clients have my email. Just remember a few things:

Never accept payment outside of the platform 

Never give your bank account or any other personal info

Never start work unless you are officially hired on platform and escrow has been funded (fixed price job)

Those are the main ones.  You can read the job warning signs thread for lots of great info on red flags. 

"Fairness is giving all people the treatment they earn and deserve. It doesn't mean treating everyone alike-Coach John Wooden"

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Guru

Jennifer: It doesn't violate any Upwork rules to provide a potential client with your email address, but most experienced contractors would tell you it's a bad idea to provide it.

I am happy to provide my email address to clients after they have hired me and an official contract is in place.

Tell your (currently POTENTIAL) client this:

"Frank,

Upwork's messaging system can be useful for some things, but I agree that it can be much more convenient to communicate via email. So, yes, I'll send you my personal/businss gmail address after after you click the 'Hire' button so I can agree to the contract."

vdubeau
Community Guru