🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client Went MIA
Page options
e-njoku
Community Member

Client Went MIA

So, a my client hired me, funded the milestone and of course, gave me a deadline. The deadline was at least 2 weeks ago. She received the work, told me she would get back to me, and has basically ghosted me since then. It's been 2 weeks now. I have left her messages but nothing. She is just apparently gone.

On my overview, the money says in review. It also says clients have 14 days to ask for revisions after submission of milestone. It's been 7 days now. What happens after the 14th day? Does Upwork release the money, or do I still have to wait for the client to approve it?

The client and I had a good flow so I don't know why she would just ghost me like this. Still, I have done the work and I would really like to get paid for it.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Clients are not obligated to respond to commuications from freelancers.

As a freelancer, I get paid AUTOMATICALLY, whether or not a client is paying attention to communications from Upwork or not.

A client "went MIA" (missing in action)?

I don't think that the wording or concept is helpful.

If a patron goes to a restaurant on Monday, and orders a meal, that's great.

Then the patron went to the same restaurant on Tuesday, and ordered another meal. That's great.

If the patron does NOT go to the restaurant on Wednesday, then I do not regard the patron as "missing in action."

re: "What happens after the 14th day? Does Upwork release the money, or do I still have to wait for the client to approve it?"

After the 14th day, Upwork AUTOMATICALLY releases ALL MONEY in escrow to you.

The client doesn't need to do anything.

So don't send messages to the client. Just be patient.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

Clients are not obligated to respond to commuications from freelancers.