🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client alongside with messages fully dissapea...
Page options
p-virdzinija
Community Member

Client alongside with messages fully dissapeared + asked for e-mail communication

Hello, first let me start that I am new to active use of Upwork and I am trying to get my first job hence I am applying quite actively even to not verified payment jobs etc. I do try to apply to those clients who have good ratings but I did apply for several where clients are also new and not verified. 

With that on the mind in the morning I got a positive response from the client telling me I am right for the job, just to confirm my acceptance to write to her e-mail account. I wrote to upwork message platform saying I am grateful for the opportunity and that I will confirm also via e-mail. WAS THIS OK FROM MY SIDE? Did I do something wrong, is this ok with Upwork? No payment outside of upwork was mentioned. I just wrote to e-mail, I am confirming my interest, thank you for the opportunity. Client had not verified payment account.

Since client remained silent, nor did I receive files to start my work, nothing happened. Later today I logged in to my account, messages between me and client disappeared, also the proposal for job vanished (it says is no longer available). Does anyone have idea what happened? And did I do anything wrong?

Many thanks in advance.

Best regards,

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Virdzinija,

While I can't share details for another user, I would like to clarify that communicating outside of Upwork is not allowed until an official contract is formed. 

To learn more about getting started on Upwork and how to protect yourself, check out our resources Here. Please keep in mind that In order to be eligible for our Upwork Payment Protection you will need to be hired on an official contract and fulfill the criteria required. Thank you.

~ Goran
Upwork

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8