🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asking me to add them to my facebook a...
Page options
cheema_mundhavni
Community Member

Client asking me to add them to my facebook and whatapp account

Hi, i am fairly new to upwork.

This one client asked me to add them to facebook/ whatsapp to send documents about the job.

It makes me so uneasy.....

Whats the best way to communicate with the clients in upwork? how do we get files/ send back the finished work to the client here?

thanks,

19 REPLIES 19
ncyhere
Community Member

Hi Mundhavni,

client may have asked you to send the documents and files through facebook and whatsapp, but if you send the files through a different way or communicate with client in other means upwork payment protection doesn't apply and also it's against the t&c of upwork.

Never communicate with clients other than upwork, use the submit work for payment in contract page to send the files to client .

Thank You,
Naveen.

petra_r
Community Member

Naveen Y wrote:

client may have asked you to send the documents and files through facebook and whatsapp, but if you send the files through a different way or communicate with client in other means upwork payment protection doesn't apply and also it's against the t&c of upwork.

Nonsense. There is NOTHING wrong with communicating with clients via outside media, in fact I always make sure I have at least one other means of contact. It does not invalidate payment protection and it is not against the terms of service at all.

However, WhatsApp and Facebook are not exactly the most professional ways to share documents and are frequently used by scammy clients.

It doesn't even sound like the OP even HAS a contract with that client at this point.

ncyhere
Community Member

hi petra,

Thats what i am trying to say , you may get scammed if you send documents outside upwork.

Naveen Y wrote:

hi petra,

Thats what i am trying to say , you may get scammed if you send documents outside upwork.