🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asking refund for completed project
Page options
619e0ab1
Community Member

Client asking refund for completed project

Hi, I need help as I have a situation that is making me really nervous.

I started an hourly rated contract with a client 2 days ago. As I worked in it the client told me that he was very happy with how it was turning out. I stayed calm while he asked me to continue making revisions to things that were more than anything details.
I finally gave him the final file minutes ago and he immediately told me that he was not happy with the result and sent me a refund request.
How should I proceed to avoid losing the money from all the work done? All hours are logged in the application.
The client did not close the contract either. Is it convenient for me to block him to prevent it from continuing to write to me asking me to return the money that belongs to me?

I never had a situation like this before, I always have good results with my clients and I'm top rated for something.

Thank you!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

Take a few deep breaths. Don't do anything yet, nothing is going to happen until next week, during the review period for hourly work. The work week closes on Sunday; the client has until the following Friday to challenge the hours you logged. If you used the time tracker as prescribed with sufficient activity and memos re the work being performed, then you are covered and will be paid, regardless of what the client says or does.

It's possible, of course, that the client will be spiteful and leave bad feedback but depending on the dollar value of the contract, it may or may not be damaging. If it knocks you down below 90 (or even to 90 or so) then you can use your TR perk to have the feedback removed from your JSS calculation. That is when you'll need to act promptly. For now, just sit quietly and wait.