🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asking to remove logs with activity le...
Page options
sr_vd
Community Member

Client asking to remove logs with activity less than 50%

Hey community, how are you doing, hope you're all good.

I have a client, who decided that activity less than 50% is not worth paying. I am a programmer myself, following client ideas, I should constantly type code and click mouse buttons without thinking about what I'm doing and how I'm doing this,  beyond that I spend additional time without charging him, on organization stuff of the project, like preparing icons, animating images a.o. Also I found a website where, a lot of clients complain specifically about this person, that he is a complete scammer, and he has there a ton of 1star minimal feedbacks there. Now he is telling me that he won't release payment until I'll not delete those screenshots, I just wanted to hear from your dears, how you would act in a similar situation, because it's seems like from this point my activity with this client is coming to the end, which will probably lead to a bad feedback.

6 REPLIES 6
andreag22
Community Member

If you used the time tracker correctly your payment is protected, do not delete the screenshots!

You can read about Hourly Payment Protection here: 

https://support.upwork.com/hc/en-us/articles/211068288-Hourly-Protection

Also, on hourly contracts the client does not release the payment, they are charged automatically.

florydev
Community Member

If a client ever asked me to delete a screenshot, I doubt I would. Regardless I would never work for that client again.

The way I see it is the screenshot tool is a security blanket for both the freelancer and the client. It’s actual value is more one of psychology and is useful only until a trusting relationship forms. After a while my guess is clients never look at it. If I ever have a client make a deal out if it they will quickly be diplomatically dropped.
petra_r
Community Member

Vladimir S wrote: