🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client asking to send them a WhatsApp
Page options
nel_zonia
Community Member

Client asking to send them a WhatsApp

Good day, I'm new to Upwork. I recently submitted a proposal and received a message stating that if I am interested in the work I should send a WhatsApp message to a number. Is this how it works or should I ignore this and withdraw my proposal? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Zonia,

I would like to confirm that sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork’s Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork. I also encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.

I advise you to also check this help article to find great tips to stay safe on Upwork. You can also check this post for the freelancer resources and tips for avoiding questionable jobs that we put together to help freelancers make decisions whether to work with a client or not. 

~ Nikola
Upwork

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
petra_r
Community Member

Zonia N wrote:

I recently submitted a proposal and received a message stating that if I am interested in the work I should send a WhatsApp message to a number.

Don't go ahead, do not contact the client on Whatsapp (you would be violating Upwork's terms of service if you did) - tell the client that due to Upwork's terms of service all contact can only be on Upwork until a contract is in place.

1a1d9435
Community Member

If you're working for tired! so' you can someone work with me given. Contact for Whatsapp,, +880 1611583591 * BD.

bilal1983
Community Member

Yes ignore it, it's most probably a scam targeting new comers. 

And even if it's not a scam, contacting someone outside of Upwork before a contract is against the Terms of Service ToS of UW.