🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client billing
Page options
smylus
Community Member

Client billing

Hi there, I'm new to Upwork and just completed a job for a client that went quite a bit over the original stipulation of 5 hours per week, ending up taking a full 18 hours. Due to the client changing the brief, and adjusting to realizations that to complete the work as desired would require considerably more time, the additional time was required. Additonally the 11 hours it took to finalize the project happened on the weekend, and because of their tight deadline (not mentioned to begin with) took up the whole of my weekend Saturday. I used the time tracking and saw that the hours were being logged, and screen grabs being taken every 10 minutes, but when it came to seeing the final invoice, only 5 hours is being charged!? I havent spoken to the client yet, but how can I get a proper official count of my hours to prsent to them?

They have been satisfied with the job, but I want to show them clearly the hours that its taken.

Thank you!

Shaun

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Yes, now I know. Thanks for the input guys.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "but when it came to seeing the final invoice, only 5 hours is being charged"

It sounds like the client-specified maximum number of hours was set to 5 hours.

At this point it is very important for you to understand how the Upwork system works.

Clients ARE allowed to set a specified maximum number of hours per week that a freelancer may work.

The client MAY increase those hours if she wants to.
Also, the client MAY pay a bonus payment to cover the hours that weren't counted.

But the client is not required to do so.

This is between you and the client.

At this point, because the work week has now ended, you have these options:

a) Do nothing; accept payment for 5 hours only.