🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client cancelled the contract once I delivere...
Page options
sergiolombardo
Community Member

Client cancelled the contract once I delivered the project for a final review.

Hello people,

I'm a Top-Rated Designer and I've never got any issue with clients so far. On the 27th on November, a new client  contacted me and proposed me a UI project for a quite small budget. 

The project sounded at least interesting so I accepted the job and offered him 2 revisions for the whole project.

First, he did not provide any visual reference and further information. Just a textual list of the App's sections.  He was very unresponsive and sometimes it would take him 2-3 days to reply to my messages. So I asked to postpone the deadline a bit and he was fine with this. I sent him a draft for a first revision and once everything was reviewd, I sent 25 UI screens back to him. Basically, this was already a 90% completed app design. 

He had a last turnaround revision available and said he would let me know on the next steps.

After a few hours he cancelled the project withouth any reason/communication and even the project budget was funded, I see that I haven't got paid for it. I found out he is a UI/UX designer himself and, I assume, he can now just copy my designs without needing to pay me out.   

Is there anything I can do to dispute something against this client and at least get paid? The budget was on escrow.

Is this going to affect my JSS?

4 REPLIES 4
petra_r
Community Member

Sergio L wrote:

Basically, this was already a 90% completed app design. 

He had a last turnaround revision available and said he would let me know on the next steps.

After a few hours he cancelled the project withouth any reason/communication and even the project budget was funded, I see that I haven't got paid for it.

You should be sent (or see on the contract) a request for the return of the Escrow funds.