🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Client closed the contract and asked for ...
Page options
catnapper
Community Member

Client closed the contract and asked for refund, how does it affect jss

Hello!

I have had a client who ordered a book from me. His requirements at the moment of opening the job were clear, but after funding the money they have changed (from 30 illustrations to 60, he also asked me to invent the story and provide the first illustrations in two days, which we have not discussed earlier). After I have sent him the sketches, he asked "but where is the scenario" which made me confused as I am an illustrator, not a writer. I kindly responded that he needs to clarify what he needs, what is the timeline, and how many images he wants. I have provided some sample pages, character sketches and described how the project can run successfully, he asked for time to think about it, and the day after he closed the contract without any discussion, writing that he is facing personal problems. In my opinion, he had no idea what he wanted to order, or maybe he found somebody else, but it does not matter. What matters for me is- how it will affect my jss? I have many long-term clients, so I am not worried for now, but I would not want to have problems because of this in the future. I have found on the community board that if he pays me a bonus project won't be considered as not paid and it will save me somehow, and the client agreed to pay me this bonus.  Also, I am thinking if to leave him bad feedback, as I would not like to do this, yet his behavior was not quite professional, so in this case, I use not to write anything, it is strange as usually after a full refund there is no "leave feedback" option, which is now appearing, and as he is unpredictable I am worried what could he have written there.

4 REPLIES 4
petra_r
Community Member

Krystyna N wrote: