Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Client insulted me by e-mail

pepatranslations
Katrin Z Member Since: Oct 27, 2017
1 of 5

Hello Upwork community,

I'm a freelancer on Upwork since a few months and my experience has been very positive overall! I had the chance to work with great clients and interesting projects which made me very happy.

This week, it was different. I know that not all clients are equally nice, but this particular client has gone to far. 

The situation:

I agreed with the client to schedule a phone call to discuss the details of the project on Monday. We agreed that we would talk again on Wednesday, and that I would start reading a bit about the company's products on Tuesday, I mentioned that I had other projects running but that I could spare an hour. I spent some time reading on their products and was prepared with some basic knowledge for our next call on Wednesday. The client reacted very rude to me and wasn't happy that I didn't acquire more in depth knowledge. He said that I have no idea what I was even talking about (well, I was, but that's another question). I told him that I would read more about the product on Thursday and that we would start with a first day of work on Friday. 

On Thursday evening, I was reading on the client's profile, that he had four 1 star ratings from people and extremely negative comments about his behaviour. For other projects in a different category, he had good feedback though. I didn't want to spend too much time on intensive reading about their projects before even having an offer via Upwork from this client, and all the negative comments on his behaviour shocked. 

Friday, 08.00 at the agreed time, the client wasn't online. At 09.00 he tried to call me (but by then, I was off). I later withdrew my proposal on Upwork and added that I'm no longer interested (without mentioning the reasons which were a bad impression and the bad feedback history he had).