🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client made a mistake with contract, closed i...
Page options
b_mamanov
Community Member

Client made a mistake with contract, closed it and rehired me

Hello rich people! I just wondering, will the contract ended by the client (because of a mistake) and rehired me again somehow change my JSS?

I've sent a proposal for an interior design job. The client and I have agreed on a 450$ for the whole project. After the client sends me an offer. The budget was 450$ but the first milestone was 10$ and was named "start". By the way, the client has good reviews and 90k+ spend on Upwork.

I am new to Upwork, but I've spent some time reading the discussions about clients not paying the rest of the amount shown on "budget", and paid only the milestone. I was worried about it.  I asked the client to put the full amount in the escrow to start the project. by the way, the client was telling me that I should not ask for this and client should solve to pay me or not. This was not clear to me. Finally, the client added a new milestone with the remaining amount. But I saw that money wasn't funded, which means it's not protected by Upwork. I was asked once more to put money in the escrow. The client told me that this is the only way how to solve this problem, and she said that she can cancel the contract and rehire me with another contract with full money in escrow. I told the client that closed contracts may affect my JSS. But the client just canceled the contract and started the new one. 

My question is canceled contract will affect my JSS or not? Thank you for reply.

16 REPLIES 16
robin_hyman
Community Member

Contracts that end without payment exchanged will affect your JSS. There is nothing you can do about it right now except try to win more projects and close them with a positive review. 

In the future, do not accept a project until the terms you pre-negotiated are reflected in escrow. 

Good luck!

Robin H wrote: