cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client not activating /paying last Milestone payment ?

Highlighted
Imran Y Member Since: Mar 28, 2017
1 of 10

Hi , 

I am new to UpWork and I did a FixedPrice Job. Its first MileStone was "Begin the Project" . I was expecting when I will start working on it and share my initial status with the client he or 'system' will approve this milestone but it did not happen and I had to request him (waiting after 2 days) to approve the 1st Milestone , that he did after 1-2 days...

It was short contract and meanwhile I completed the job (I was expecting now as Milestone 1 is completed so 'system' will automatically trigger the 2nd milestone...but later I found it does not work like this - in hard way) and share the screens of my final work and I offered to share executable with him for his testing but he asked for the complete source code... as he himself is a freelancer on UpWork so I trusted him (thinking a freelancer will not deceive a freelancer !!!) and sahre the complete source code. 

And now he is gone all quite...not responding at all from last 5,6 days !!!

So my questions are:

1- Do I need to raise a dispute to get Milestone 1 payment ? or it will be released automatically from escrow?

2- What would be the status of my Job, would it be marked 'Completed' automatically ? or do I need to terminate it after payment of Milestone 1 ?

3- My client is a freelancer on Upwork..how can I report him ?

Thanks for your help and time.

Regards,

Imran

Highlighted
Vladimir G Moderator Member Since: Oct 31, 2014
2 of 10

Hi Imran,

I see the first Milestone was approved and the payment is currently subjected to a standard security period. Please go to Report > Overview and you'll find the payment under Pending. Click the question mark icon above it in order to learn more about its current status.