cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Client not officially and formally giving me an offer through Upwork's system

Highlighted
Kevin R Member Since: Apr 16, 2018
1 of 13

So, a client has messaged me on Upwork and asked if I wanted to start. I said yes, and they began giving me instructions to set up an email and Craigslist account (the job is data entry related and consists of posting ads on Craigslist). I looked on my proposals page and the offers section still says 0 offers. So, the job is still officially under active candidacies. Would it be okay to start following these instructions or not do any work until I receive an offer to officially accept on Upwork? No milestones have been established either, by the way. I asked them about milestones, and they said they would discuss milestones after I set up the gmail and cragislist account, but should I even do that yet? I am new to Upwork, so I want to be sure that I am going by correct procedures in my situation (and I apologize if I am posting in the wrong forum).

Highlighted
Community Guru
Janean L Member Since: Apr 6, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 13

@ Kevin -- 

You are posting in the right place if you want good advice on how to avoid mistakes. Of course, reading through the forums will help. Most of the mistakes have been made before.

As to this: NEVER work without a contract. Never enter into a contract that fails to clearly define the scope of the work you will perform, the time in which the work will be carried out, and all expectations for deliverables.