🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client refuses to pay me the agreed upon rate
Page options
7a18e804
Community Member

Client refuses to pay me the agreed upon rate

I was a freelancer doing Described Video (DV) work for a company. The rate was $3.75 per minute. A year and a half later, they hire me to be a freelance transcriptionist doing Closed Captioning (CC) work.

They said I didn't need an updated contract and would just be rolled back in (I have this in writing). However, when I submitted my invoice, they said "No no, the rate isn't $3.75. It's $2.50 for transcription work. Please amend your invoice." This is obviously news to me.

I tell them that $2.50 is fine going forward, but could they please pay me the $3.75 rate for this invoice because that was the agreed upon rate, and I was never told there was a different rate for transcription until now.

This is clearly an HR screwup on their end. We've been going back and forth, but I think they will continue to refuse to pay me the $3.75 rate.

I want legal advice, but hiring a lawyer would be more expensive than just getting paid less.

What should I do?

3 REPLIES 3
petra_r
Community Member

Scott S wrote:

What should I do?

What type of contract do you have with them ON UPWORK? On Upwork this situation wouldn't normally occur.

AleksandarD
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Scott,

Could you please send me a private message with the email address of your Upwork account along with the contract ID so that I can check?

Please note that having duplicate accounts is a serious violation of Upwork's Terms of Service.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I want legal advice, but hiring a lawyer would be more expensive than just getting paid less."

You don't need "legal advice."

(Also: You are correct in pointing out that you can't afford legal advice.)

Also, you don't need help from Upwork Customer Support.

All you need is common sense advice.