🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Client requested a refund with no reason
Page options
dulcegm63
Community Member

Client requested a refund with no reason

Hello, I am new to upwork and recently I received a refund request from the client.

The problem is that there is no reason why she sent that request, since the work was completed and she approved the milestone.

Apparently, there is no reason why she asks me for a refund.

Maybe it's just a mistake, but the only thing I did was return the amount left in escrow to her, nothing more.

Also, my client agreed to pay me the amount of $50, and now I see that she has sent me a request for a refund of $50 with NO EXPLANATION, so I don't understand why.

I Attached a screenshot below.
As you can see, she does not say any reason or anything, so i can't understand why she sent me this request.

¿Am I obligated to make her a refund? The work is finished and in theory there was no problem.

Thank you

11 REPLIES 11
petra_r
Community Member

Dulce Maria G wrote:

¿Am I obligated to make her a refund?

No, you are not. Send a polite message to the client that the work was done correctly as agreed (if it was) and approved by herself and that you are not going to refund at this time.

Hello Petra, thanks for your reply. But i have a doubt.

¿Client can enter a dispute with me, even that she agreed to pay me, and approved the milestone by herself?

I have returned her the amount in escrow, because she said that the project was not perfect, but she accepted to pay a friendly amount to me.

¿Can upwork enter a dispute with me and the client for a milestone that was approved by the client? 😕

Thanks

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Dulce Maria,