🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client requesting for refund after 9 days of ...
Page options
a1a231f8
Community Member

Client requesting for refund after 9 days of ending a fixed contract.

.I worked on a 40$ project recently. Every milestone was completed and client was happy with the work. After ending the contract, he gave me a bonus of 32$.(  Total 72$  ) and a feedback rating of 5 stars.

When the code was handed over, everything was fine and working correctly. But after 9 days, he is requesting a full refund saying the code  does not run properly when deployed. Although deployment was not part of the requirement, I agreed to listen to the error, to which he denied and now wants full payment to be refunded.

I have received all the funds and there is nothing in the Escrow. I have transferred the funds in the bank.

So, what to do now? I am not willing to refund the amount to the client. What if I simply ignore the request and does not reply to him? 

I am new to freelancing and this was my first contract. Please help me! Thanks in advance.

5 REPLIES 5
petra_r
Community Member

Dhairya A wrote:

So, what to do now? I am not willing to refund the amount to the client. What if I simply ignore the request and does not reply to him? 

Then the client may open a dispute, which they can do up to 30 days after the last milestone was funded.

a1a231f8
Community Member

Thanks for the response!

What should I do in this case? The client is not ready to listen. I am ready to solve the error in case if he is getting one. But he wants all the refund. Basically he wants the project for free. 

Please tell me the options I have. It would be a great help. 

a_temmy
Community Member

Hi Dhairya, 

The best option is for you to tell the client about opening a dispute, with which Upwork will decide.

petra_r
Community Member

Dhairya A wrote:

Thanks for the response!