🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Client requesting samples before hiring
Page options
venessa83
Community Member

Client requesting samples before hiring

Hi Everyone, 

I need some help please. 

I am fairly new to Upwork. I recently sent a proposal for a logo design. The client contacted me and wants to see possible designs and ideas before hiring. I have sent my full portfolio in order for them to see what my previous designs looked like, but they want me to send ideas and mock graphics specifically for their business

I did ask the client to set up a contract for an hourly rate to do the test job. (Thanks Petra) But they advised they never hire without seeing sketches first? 

How does one handle this? Are we allowed to send the free samples? And if I do send the ideas & graphics, and they do not hire me, how am I to know they are not using my ideas or giving my designs to another designer?

Thanks everyone. All advice and tips to handle this situation or possible future situations like this will be highly appreciated. 

Regards, 

V

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thank you kindly. 

I appreciate the advice. 

Wishing you a lovely day. 🙂 

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
prestonhunter
Community Member

Venessa:
It is a violation of Upwork ToS for a client to ask for free work.

A client may look at a freelancer's portfolio.

A client who tries to get you to do free work so that they "see your sketches" or whatever is just trying to trick you.

If a client needs to see custom samples, then she needs to hire you using an hourly contract to pay you for your time to create those samples.

If you send a prospective client ANYTHING (ideas, graphics, custom samples, etc.) then that client may indeed use what you send her and there is nothing you can do about it.

It IS POSSIBLE that this client is simply ignorant of Upwork's rules.