Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client squeezing prices by promising volume & long term collaboration

emonnier1
Eric M Member Since: Mar 20, 2017
1 of 5

Hi,

I'm offering translation services.

This is the first job I would get on Upwork so I don't have this kind of experience yet.

A potential client invited me on a project and asked for a proposal, promising a daily volume of words to translate and a "long term" collaboration (not clear how long).

The translations are used on a site like Buzzfeed, where you have a big picture and "clickbait" headline, some text, and "native" ads everywhere around.

As a translator, I have to be ready to translate the new content published, between 10am and 7pm.

My initial proposal is $0.07 per word.

The potential client asks for $0.02, arguing there would be a daily volume of work (she says), for a longer term (she says), and that she has already 3 other translators ready to work for this price (she says -- and the job description says she needs only one translator).

My question: 

- In the probability I accept the $0.02, will there be in the Upwork process a place where there's an agreement between the parties, stating the collaboration on the basis of "xxx volume a day, for a period of xx days, at the price of $ xx"?

- Or this potential client can simply "use" me for 5 days with a volume under what it has been promised but keeping me "waiting" for the fresh content every day, 7 hours a day? And then decide it's not ok for some reason (or me asking for what has been promised but not delivered? and then stopping "being on alert" for nothing?) and stop the job?

Looking forward for more information.

I guess I'll pass on this project, but I've another one of the similar vein (but it seems more "serious") so I don't wan't to waste my chances.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards

Eric

versailles
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
BEST ANSWER
2 of 5

@Eric M wrote: