🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Client want me to do an unrealistic task!
Page options
peter_ezzat
Community Member

Client want me to do an unrealistic task!

Hello 🙂

Well, I have been working with a client for four month now.

Every month he gives me a PDF file that I clean, convert and organize the data into CSV.

We work with fixed contract and every month he adds a new milestone.

This month he wanted me to do an unrealistic task!

He wanted me to read the first and last names of every row and try to figure out which first name and last name is correct!

That makes no sense to me at all.

I am from Egypt and he is from the States.

Here we have all names work both for first and last names we can never tell the difference.

Although my work is to clean and organize the data by scripts, I am a programmer not a data entry.

And he said, after four months, that he paid me to do that kind of job!

I spend all my life studying in English, but I never had to study names.

There is no science in dealing with defining first and last names.

Now is there a way to end the contract without giving me bad feedback?

I can swear that what he wants cannot even be done by AI and machine learning?

He wanted me to do something not realistic.

He wanted me to do something not my specialty.

He never wrote first and last name identification in the job post!

What can I do?

Thank you.,

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
a_lipsey
Community Member

If he has added a   task that is outside your scope, simply decline, make it clear you will not be working on that, and that you are available to continue the previous work. If he has added a milestone with the unwanted work, then you would have to close the contract. 

I would continue to try to discuss the issue with him before closing the contract and see if you can get him to change the milestone, etc. 

Just remain firm that you will not be able to do this other task and that it's not work that you will do. 

View solution in original post